Well, Miles met his first shiner today. It was one of those incidents where everything went in slow motion and my feet refused to move faster than a run to get there in time to stop fate. He was running toward a merry-go-round, and before I knew it, he was flying right into it. I do have to tell you, this made me feel like the worst mother in the world for not being able to prevent my child from getting hurt. I know this is the first of many ouchies, but that doesn’t make it any easier to accept. I had tears in my eyes as Miles snuggled up to me and cried. It was just the saddest thing in the world to see him cry in pain. After a few minutes of kisses and hugs and a nice ice pack when we got home, Miles was in good enough spirits to indulge me (the lady who got him into this mess)as I took some pictures of his first (and hopefully last) shiner.

