Warning: This is a brag session!

As I was watching Miles cuddle up with his little blankie, monkey, a book and his toothbrush, I just felt a sweet peace inside of me. It is the most adorable thing to watch him get settled down for bed. I love the little routine he goes through to settle down for the night- it’s so relaxing and sweet.

Nap time and bedtime is one of my favorite times of the day- not because I get to put him in bed and have time to myself, but because that is our time of the day to get extra cuddles and snuggles in. During the day, Miles is always so occupied with playing and running wild, so I am so glad he takes the time out of his busy schedule to let me know he still loves me. I just love his little snuggles and kisses!

Miles is such a sweet little guy, and he is such an amazing sleeper these days. As I reflect back on the short amount of time (which seemed like it was endless while we were in the moment of it all) that we had a big struggle with “sleep training”, I am grateful we trudged through those nights of crying and consoling. He has turned into such a true champ at this sleeping business. I’m so proud of him!

I’m also a true believer of schedules for babies, and in making sure they sleep. I know all babies are different, and some are just much better sleepers than others, but I think it’s so worth it to be a “sleep phsycho” for as long as it can last. Although it was rough, I’m glad I was a hermit in the beginning while Miles was taking 3 and 4 naps a day, because it has truly paid off. I’m also grateful that I didn’t give in too easily just because things seemed much too hard at the moment, and it felt like it would have been much less stressful to just let him get out of bed and play (to spare me from having to go in and out of his room as he cried).

It’s crazy how we tend to forget how incredibly rough some stages were, and how we’re willing to do it all over again. I’m sure I’ll be singing a different tune when we have another baby, but I’ll try to remember this posting so I can give myself a pep-talk.


