I just finished “The Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini, and all I can say is “Wow”. It took me a while to finish this book, mainly because of some really intense scenes that I just needed to take breaks in between reading. This book was absolutely fantastic, and the author is an amazing writer. He truly had me from the first page of the book, and engrossed me as I read through each and every one of the 400 pages. There are some very disturbing portions of this story, and it will truly break your heart, but there are other parts that make all of those scenes worth reading. I shed tears, laughed, smiled, rejoiced with the characters of the story, and found myself thinking of it every day. As I read, I grew more and more grateful for the life I have been blessed with. In my opinion, this is a must read!

Just a word of caution: Since this story involves the Taliban and life in a completely different part of the world, there are some disturbing, intense images. Although I felt emotionally drained in some sections, I was able to overcome that by reading the next joyful part.

For those of you who read this book, what were your thoughts? Also, have you read “A Thousand Splendid Suns”? If so, what were your thoughts on that book?

