We had a very close call last night with Miles.  He was up in his bedroom, playing around like he normally does before he retires for the night.  We heard the typical rustling and crashing around, and Dillon went up to check in on the little man, just as we usually do until he falls asleep.  I hear a very frantic yell come from upstairs, “MILES, WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!?!?”.  My heart jumped out of my chest because I could sense the panic in Dillon’s voice.  I ran upstairs as quickly as I could, and asked what was going on.  This is what I saw:  blinds broken in half, toddler bed moved under the window, window WIDE open.  Miles had moved his bed across the room and decided it would be fun to climb on top of his window sill, unlock the latches on the window and open the window all the way (this is how Dillon found him- STANDING on the sill of the OPEN window).  Mind you, his room is on the THIRD story of our apartment, and our windows are easily as tall as he is.  I’m still sick about the thought of what could have happened, had Dillon not gone up there when he did.  Thankfully, nothing horrible happened, and by some miracle, we still have BOTH of our adorable boys.  Dillon immediately went to the store to get some window locks. It never dawned on me that my almost three year old would be able to open the windows that even I have a hard time opening.  Now we know what this kid’s capable of, and I have to admit, I’m scared to see what else he has up his sleeve.  

What am I going to do with this guy???  
I’m just at a loss.  Kid Proof holds absolutely NO water in our house because he’s figured out every single latch on every device we have purchased to keep our kids safe (baby gates; outlet covers; door plates- you know, the kind you use to keep your kids in the house; locks; latches of all sorts; I can go on and on…).  I’m not kidding when I say he’s figured out every baby gate known to man.  I took him to a baby store, and within SECONDS he had all five of the baby gates on display figured out (these were the ones that were supposed to be tamper-resistant).  The guy that was helping me find the ‘safest’ gate for a very smart, curious toddler jokingly said to me, “Well, it looks like none of these will work for you, you might consider a more high security-type gate.  You’re in trouble, lady.”  
After getting a little tired of my kids constant raiding my pantry all day long and not wanting to eat their meals, we decided to try putting a door latch at the way top of the frame (because I knew he’d for sure be able to reach one that was near the top on the side).  This is what I came downstairs to Sunday morning.  Sneaky (but I must admit, very resourceful, little devil)!
He seriously did this in no more than two minutes, and had a bowl of cereal all to himself by the time I got downstairs.

He’s seriously just way too curious and smart for his own good sometimes.  Does anyone else have a kid like this?  How do you channel or redirect that constant energy and curiosity?  I need to keep this little man safe, but I can’t put a bubble around him (thought it’s very tempting at times).  
I’m just so grateful that God was watching over us last night.  
