[Yesterday] After visiting Santa at the Jelly Belly Factory, we headed over to Travis Air Force Base.  They have a museum there with all kinds of retired planes, engines, missiles, nose art, etc.  from previous wars.

We go to the visitors center to obtain clearance into the base for our visit.  This took us a good hour to finally get our pass.  50+ people waiting for clearance as well, ONE employee working behind the desk.  Awesome.  Anyways, once we got our pass and our sponsor finally showed up, we were on our way over to the museum.

As some of you may know, I was born on Fairchild AFB, but haven’t been back since I was a baby.  It was so interesting to get a feel for what life was like for my parents when my dad was in service.

 

The missiles caught their eyes almost immediately.

We couldn’t believe how massive those engines were!

 

Miles kept saying “I can’t believe how huge these planes are!”

These boys were in heaven!

Every time I stopped to think about what these planes represent, I got a little choked up.

We even got to watch planes coming and going into the base.

And we even got to see a few jets take off!

This was so worth the hour we had to wait!

